Key West iPhoneography

I haven’t posted in a couple of weeks because I’ve been gearing up for my brother’s wedding in Key West, which took place a week ago today. What a fantastic place! My husband Jake and I were last there in 1997 and it really hasn’t changed a whole lot. I took a bunch of film with me, including some Revolog and Velvia. I used my Holga during the wedding, loaded with black and white film, so that I could capture the little moments that the professional photographer may have missed. Don’t get me wrong, his work is beautiful, but when you look through the lens of a toy camera you see things a little differently.

As soon as we landed at the airport, the snapping commenced. These are Hipstamatic with Susie Lens and Cano Cafenol film.

Roosters, chickens and cats rule the island. It’s amazing that they all co-exist peacefully, but then again, it is Key West.

John S Lens, Pistil Film

Loftus Lens, Ina’s 1969 Film

Key West doesn’t take itself too seriously, as evidenced by these funny and artful signs.

John S Lens, Pistil Film

Tejas Lens, Ina’s 1969 film

Americana Lens, Ina’s 1969 Film

Loftus Lens, Ina’s 1969 FIlm

John S Lens, Pistil Film

Loftus Lens, Ina’s 1969 Film

 The Menu @ Pepe’s…Free Pickles for Pregnant Women!     John S Lens, Pistil Film

Also @ Pepe’s…Steak Smothered in Pork Chops….what? Who does that?

James M Lens, Ina’s 1969 Film

We were there, of course, to celebrate my brother’s wedding to his high school sweetheart, April. Here are a few people shots of the wedding and afterwards.

Tejas Lens, Ina’s 1969 Film…….First Dance

Tejas Lens, Ina’s 1969 Film…..April and her Dad, who is talking to April’s daughter. You can see her eyes peeking out behind April’s shoulder

Tejas Lens, Ina’s 1969 Film……Singing with the band, Sweet Leda

One of my favorite shots of the night on Duval Street

Julie getting ready for an acoustic set….John S Lens, Alfred Infrared Film

There was a lot of beauty to behold in Key West, along with the weirdness…..and lots of stray shopping carts.

John S Lens, Alfred Infrared Film

John S Lens, Alfred Infrared Film

John S Lens, Pistil Film….This was in someone’s backyard

Susie Lens, Ina’s 1969 Film

 Susie Lens and Cano Cafenol film

John S Lens, Pistil Film

I had such a blast with friends old and new. If you ever get the chance to take a trip to Key West, run, don’t walk to the plane. I’m hoping 15 more years won’t pass by before my next trip.

About ipdegirl

analogue girl in a digital world View all posts by ipdegirl

Leave a Reply

