Yay for the Yashica!!

I am solidly in love with my new Yashica 635. This TLR beauty, made in 1958, is actually a dual-format camera TLR. A film adapter kit was made to work with these cameras so you could use 35mm film in addition to 120 medium format film. Mine didn’t come with one, but that’s quite alright with me.

I’ve been wanting one of these cameras for a very long time and it was worth the wait. For my first roll, I took it on a walk in the woods on a foggy day. I got some nice, moody shots that were taken on Ilford XP-2 iso 400…it’s a C-41 processed B & W film.

Looking through the viewfinder was a little challenging. The image was pretty dark (that may have been the product of the diffused lighting that day) but otherwise, I have no complaints. I’m going to try some macro shots of tulips and flowers today using my diopters.

I would HIGHLY recommend this camera for your vintage collection! If you can get your hands on one, it’s worth the money.

About ipdegirl

analogue girl in a digital world View all posts by ipdegirl

2 responses to “Yay for the Yashica!!

  • Stephanie

    Congratulations! I love my 635; its a beautiful camera. It did take a little getting used to using the viewfinder, but with practice becomes very easy. Then you can try using it overhead for different angles…that’s a challenge! Mine came with a 35 kit, but I’ve only used it once to test out; I prefer medium format so probably won’t use it again. That’s great you have diopeters to use with it; I’d like to do the same someday. If you’re interested you can check out my 635 set on Flickr: a perhaps hand. Its in the “120” collection.

Leave a Reply

