2011 in Review

Happy 2012! Hope your holidays were fun and full of great food, drink, friends and family.

I thought I’d share some of my favorite iPhone shots from the holidays.

These were iPhone shots in Hipstamatic taken with my iPhone Holga lens turret on the ‘Quad’ setting. It was fun to goof around with the different effects while the lights were flashing.

One of my personal favorites, my son Elias was disguising Stewie with a ‘stache. I ran this one through Lo-Mob for the blown out color and sprocket effects.

I’ve been a little food-obsessed lately, probably because the scale told me to stop eating garbage and drinking so much beer. Damn scale! The top two shots are of Trix cereal as seen through the macro iPhone Holga lens turret. I saw one of these brightly colored nuggets sitting on the counter by itself and thought it was a button. When I looked closer, I realized it was cereal….wow.

I’m not much of a baker, but my two daughters love to make cookies and cupcakes, especially at Christmas (no wonder the scale is mean to me). The Hershey’s Kiss peanut butter cookies are one of my absolute favorites. We make them totally from scratch. After I set them on this napkin I saw how neat the patterns looked. The original picture was nice, but running it through Percolator took the picture to a whole new level.

Now, onto New Year’s Eve! I’ve never gone out on NYE and normally fall asleep before midnight but I couldn’t resist the opportunity to hang with some very close friends and go see one of my favorite bands at a local bar. There were lots of photo bombs that night…..my friend James is a great photo bomber/creeper, as seen in this shot.

I decided to bomb his photo next….it ruined a classy shot, but it was a helluva good time!

Even the kids got in on the action. Here’s my friend Loretta’s daughter photo bombing a shot of my son Elias and her other daughter Emme. She just ran right into the picture. It’s one of the funniest shots of the evening.

At the bar I took some low-light pictures of one of my favorite local bands, Sweet Leda.

All shots taken through Hipstamatic except for the next-to-last one. I used Fusioncam for a wicked-cool double exposure of the stage lights and the band.

Finally, I got a little message from WordPress, the lovely folks who host my blog. In 2011 I participated in the Post-A-Week challenge and I think I only missed two weeks of postings (because of vacation). My stats were staggering! I’m going to continue posting once a week this year as well. It was a bit of a challenge at first, but I’m glad I participated. Many, many thanks go out to you, the reader! I’m glad you all find my thoughts mildly entertaining enough to check in once in a while.

The WordPress.com stats helper monkeys prepared a 2011 annual report for this blog.

Here’s an excerpt:

The concert hall at the Syndey Opera House holds 2,700 people. This blog was viewed about 19,000 times in 2011. If it were a concert at Sydney Opera House, it would take about 7 sold-out performances for that many people to see it.

Click here to see the complete report.

About ipdegirl

analogue girl in a digital world View all posts by ipdegirl

Leave a Reply

