Happy World Toy Camera Day!

October 15, 2011: Today is the day. Break out your coolest plastic-lensed DIY creation, dust off your Diana and load up your Holga. It’s World Toy Camera Day.

(Random picture I found while searching images for “World Toy Camera Day 2011”. I just thought it was hilarious, and it’s about Baltimore, my favorite city)

I love that this day always coincides with the Lakeview Invitational Lawn Tractor Races, started by one of my best friends and her husband, that pokes fun at the local ‘culture’ here in my neck of the woods. It’s essential a very large drinking game that consists of you and a partner dressed in costume, chugging a 12 ounce beverage of your choice and doing a lap on the lawn tractor around their house. You and your partner alternate laps and chugging so that each of you is going 6 times around the house. I document this event every year with a toy camera and it is a blast. It’s a beautiful day today so I think my trusty Holga and a roll of color slide film will be my tools of choice.

We’ve been replacing the roof on our house the past week or two. I took the opportunity to take a few iPhone macro shots of a coil of roofing nails. I walked out into the garage and saw them and instantly loved the pattern, colors and textures. The first two pictures are Hipstamatic using Lucas AB2 lens and Float film.

Lucas AB2 lens, Ina’s 1969 film

Lucas AB2 lens, Ina’s 1969 film

Tejas lens, Ina’s 1969 film

Tejas lens, Ina’s 1969 film

Tejas lens, Ina’s 1969 film


About ipdegirl

analogue girl in a digital world View all posts by ipdegirl

Leave a Reply

