Dirty, Muddy Fun

Didn’t take many pictures this week but I did accomplish a goal today. I finished the DE Downstate Dirty Dozen Mud Run, a 4.8 mile run filled with 12 muddy obstacles. It was fantastic! I wanted to take my $5.00 underwater film camera along for the trip (and I could have gotten some very interesting shots) but the day was overcast. Those little cameras need a lot of light (I think they’re aperture is somewhere around f/22) so I didn’t even waste the film trying. There was also a little Vivitar 5 MP digital camera that a friend loaned me. It has it’s own waterproof case and is designed for taking pictures underwater–which turned out to be the monkey wrench in the plans. The flash was so intense (even after adjusting the strength) that I couldn’t take a decent picture without blowing everything out. Thank goodness for friends at the event who had their cell phones! I also took a few shots pre and post race with my iPhone and Hipstamatic:

I guess the enormous mud pit wasn’t watery or muddy enough because the local VFD was still filling it before racetime. You can see how chilly and windy it was by looking at the lady in the foreground.

Rich, one of my team mates, pretending to warm-up

My husband Jake, the other part of our three-person team named “Will Run For Beer”

Me and my son’s froggy hat. It kept me toasty through the race. We’re now pre-gaming with sissy beer.

Our friend (and Rich’s girlfriend) Melissa, handing out some oranges

At the end of the race with our fancy medals. We finished! Woo-hoo!

I also goofed around with Hipstamatic and Pic Grunger this week. Here are some of my favorite results of that session,

I hadn’t messed around with Pic Grunger in awhile so I was happy to find they’d added some textural backgrounds to their menu in addition to the grungy foreground effects. This is using the wrinkly background. I love how it looks like an old, stained picture.

I liked the gum ball machine at the mall. I took a close-up shot of it using the SXSW lens and Berry Pop flash, then applied various Pic Grunger effects.
Here’s another shot using the burlap background.

Last but not least, the sign on these strollers really made me scratch my head. I guess some people really are that dumb. It sure made for a funny picture!

That’s it from Lo-Fi land this week!

About ipdegirl

analogue girl in a digital world View all posts by ipdegirl

One response to “Dirty, Muddy Fun

Leave a Reply

