Duke Ellington is a Kiev 88

Have you ever wondered what camera your favorite musician might use? OK, maybe I’m the only one. Since I love jazz I was thinking the other day about what kind of lo-fi camera some famous jazz musicians might use or which camera best captures the spirit of that person. Here we go…

Duke Ellington: Elegant, classic, sharp as a tack, refined, beautiful harmonies, smooth…..all the things I think of when I use my Kiev 88

Thelonius Monk: Crazy genius, marches to the beat of his own drummer, eccentric, always in motion. Kind of like my Spinner 360

Ethel Ennis: Smooth, elegant, vocalist with velvety voice, dreamy, soft. Born in one of my favorite cities, Baltimore, MD. I think she’s a Diana.

Dizzy Gillespie: energetic, Be-Bop trumpeter with crazy technique and great cheeks. I’ll give him an Action Sampler and see what he does with it.

Miles Davis: Can NOT forget one of the best musicians ever. His trumpet style ranges from frenetic be-bop to smooth, low, dreamy jazz. A true innovator always pushing the boundaries, always re-inventing himself, just like the Holga.

Tito Puente: Latin jazz master who plays some of my favorite percussion instruments (I played the marimba in high school….it rocks). Always on the beat but always trying new, crazy different things while staying within the confines of the tremendous genre known as Latin Jazz. I think a Lubitel is in order.

Joshua Redman: One of my favorite modern jazz artists, I went to see him when he first started touring. His style is unmistakable but not too crazy. Clean but innovative. His sound and his interpretations are unique and noticeable (to me, anyways) from afar. Polaroid SX-70, anyone?

These are just a few of my favorites….add to the list now, why don’t ya?

About ipdegirl

analogue girl in a digital world View all posts by ipdegirl

6 responses to “Duke Ellington is a Kiev 88

  • Anika

    I love this! Spot on too… How about something crazy for E. Dolphy? Something like a pinhole might suit him…could leave it expose for a whole crazy moment.

    • ipdegirl

      Yes!! I also realized I forgot some other cool musicians.
      Keith Jarrett and his crazy singing-piano playing self might be a Smena 8. I say that because my Smena has a mind of it’s own. It always turns out fantastic shots no matter what you do with it, but it leaves a little extra noise or surprise sometimes with it’s wonky winding mechanism or light leaks.

  • Teagan

    Ok.
    1) I’m here because I follow (and love) Anika’s blog, and she mentioned you recently. I like it when blogs I like suggest other blogs, because it’s likely I’ll like them, too.
    2) This is a SWEET post! Love love love. I love the personalities of old cameras. Which leads me to point three:
    3) I have an old 35mm film Nikon body that I love, but the lens is a 43-86 mm zoom that doesn’t always do the trick – I’d love to have something that could handle a bit more closeness to its subject. Any suggestions of what to look for and where to look for it?
    Also,
    4) I have another 35mm camera that’s a Cannon, and this lens is pure delight. The tones it naturally has are always sure to please. Lately, however, When I attempt photos whit a shutter speed anything lower than 250, the shutter gets stuck open or something; I have to forward the film and press the shutter release again before the shutter shuts and I can see through the viewfinder. Ever heard of/experienced this before? I’ve been meaning to search for someone who does/used to do camera repairs to ask them about it, but I have a feeling it’s going to be an extensive search. My friend mentioned that maybe I should just look for a new Cannon body to put the lens on?

    5) Please forgive this long-winded comment. I’m just excited. 🙂 Know that I’ll be following in the future…can’t wait to see more of your work!

    • ipdegirl

      Cool, Teagan! Thanks so much for checking out my site. I really appreciate your lovely comments.
      Now to your questions. My digital (gasp!!!) and film SLRs are both Nikons so I’m pretty well-versed in their products. I LOVE my 50mm f/1.4 lens. It is amazing and you should have no problem finding one that works with an old SLR. Come to think of it, I’ve used it with my NIkon film SLR as well. The big f-stop really lets you get close to things and get lots of bokeh PLUS you can use it in lower light situations quite nicely. Those two reasons were why I purchased it last year and I haven’t regretted it once. I think I have a set of pictures on my Flickr page using the lens. I’ll have to check. The other thing you can get are some extension tubes. I got a set of three for Christmas two years ago and use them a lot. You put one of these tubes on to your camera body then put the lens on and you’ll be able to capture things EXTREMELY close up in an instant. The theory is the farther your lens is from the film plane the more magnified it is (I think). Because that light is traveling farther to hit the film you need to have LOTS of it, so they don’t work so well in low light but they are a nice, relatively inexpensive way to get great macro shots.
      As for you Canon issue, I’d see about getting the body looked at but it may turn out to be cheaper to get a new body. Canons do hold their value but as far as I can tell, everyone is still dumping their film stuff pretty readily on eBay. You know how it is today—disposable culture.
      Good luck with that one and let me know what you do about the Nikon! In the meantime, I’ll start rolling some ideas around in my head for a post on the extension tubes and my film SLR.
      It’s good to have new photography friends! Thanks for visiting!

Leave a Reply

