SX-70 at last!

If you’re a fan of instant photography you owe it to yourself to check out The Impossible Project, a group dedicated to bringing back instant film for your favorite vintage Polaroid cameras. As they put it on their website:

“The Impossible mission is NOT to re-build Polaroid Integral film but (with the help of strategic partners) to develop a new product with new characteristics, consisting of new optimised components, produced with a streamlined modern setup. An innovative and fresh analog material, sold under a new brand name that perfectly will match the global re-positioning of Integral Films.”

I checked out their shop last week and found some SX-70 film for a decent price so I had to get some. After purchasing an SX-70 (the cool, retro white one with the rainbow stripe) camera on eBay for around $15 (I can’t believe how much people will pay for these. I’ve seen them in the $150 range!!!) I was ready to go.

I shot the first roll today, some shots inside and some outdoors on a beautiful, sunny, warm early spring day. I didn’t do any manipulation (gotta do some research on it before I figure out what I’m doing) but I am astounded by the results. This film is really, ultra-cool. The first four shots I took indoors in dim light. The subjects of the pictures  are pretty unremarkable but the crazy colors are wild.

The shots from outside have a streaky painting-like quality about them. I tried to keep the pictures as flat as I could while they were developing. Even still, there are some rather nice streaks going on in the blue, blue sky. I’m hooked. I don’t think I’ll ever want to use ‘regular’ instant film again!

About ipdegirl

analogue girl in a digital world View all posts by ipdegirl

One response to “SX-70 at last!

Leave a Reply

